As a voluntary aided school the Governors run the school on behalf of Salford Diocese.

The Governors are made up of various groups including:

  • Foundation Governors (representing the Bishop)
  • Parent Governors
  • Staff Governors
  • LA representatives

They are elected to Office for a number of years.  Responsibilities include:

  • Appointing and dismissing staff
  • Setting the Admission policies
  • Establishing and monitoring the curriculum
  • Health and safety
  • Safeguarding

and many other areas

Governors normally hold three full governing body meetings and year plus a number of further subcommittee meetings


The current members of the governing body are:  (July 2018)

Governor Position Role
Father D O Driscoll   Foundation Governor
Mr S Thornton Assoc. Governor (Health and Safety)
Mrs J McKenna   Foundation Governor (Safeguarding)
Mrs D Stevens   Foundation Governor
Mrs M Rogers  Chair Foundation  Governor
Mr P Mortell Foundation Governor
Mrs M Lohan   Foundation Governor
Mrs C Harrison Vice Chair  Foundation Governor
Counc. J Hunt   LA Governor
Mrs S Masset   Parent Governor
Vacancy   Parent Governor
Mrs B Beach   Staff Governor
Mrs S Burgess   Headteacher